Monday, April 29, 2013

RBTL Presents: Beautiful Freaks

Title: Beautiful Freaks
Author: Katie M. John
Series: Stand Alone
Genre: YA/ Paranormal/ Gothic/ Romance
Publisher: Little Bird Publishing House, London Release
Date: Ebook October 2012 Print February 2013 Edition/Formats Available In : Currently just ebook print coming soon Feb 14 2013.
Between these pages you will find yourself transported back in time to the high Gothic.
Victorian London.
The year is 1899 and both the century and the Queen are dying.
As the London populace is gripped by a terrifying series of paranormal murders, eighteen year old Kaspian Blackthorne finds himself on a decadent journey of self discovery. Victorian London is a place where appearance is everything, but sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Behind the grand houses, carriages and silks, London is a dark labyrinth of sorrow and violence.
Amongst the gambling dens, dancehalls, and brothels you'll find No 7, known to its members as Eve's; the most exclusive club in London, infamous for its 'Palace of Beautiful Freaks'.
Each exhibit has a history, each their own unique story.

Amazon UK | Amazon US |  Smashwords | Goodreads
Blog | Beautiful Freaks Website |  Website |  Facebook Page: Beautiful Freaks |  Twitter | Goodreads

Katie. M John is a writer of YA, Dark Fairytales, Contemporary Paranormal Fantasy and Horror. She lives in the London suburbs, is married to a dashingly handsome giant and is mummy to a 3ft Mud-puddle Fairy. Katie likes to write whilst eating Jaffa cakes and listening to her i-Pod. Katie's Contemporary Arthurian series, 'The Knight Trilogy' was launched in December 2010 with the release of 'The Forest of Adventures' and the subsequent release of 'Immortal Beloved' in 2011. Both books have been in the UK top 10 Amazon charts for Contemporary Fantasy and Fairytales. The final book 'Star Fire' was released this summer. She has recently released a standalone YA novel called 'Beautiful Freaks', a steam punk, Victorian Gothic detective fairytale in London, which has gained a loyal fan base. She is currently working on a seven book series called the ‘Pentacle Chronicles’, a tale of witchcraft and other supernatural happenings in a quaint English village. She is a founding member of Dark Heart & Night Shade; a twice yearly anthology publication that showcases emerging YA talent.

This story is a puzzle that comes together very nicely. In the beginning we meet Kaspian, an 18 year old, who lost his parents at a young age. Living with his guardian, Kaspian is immersed into the paranormal world where he learns he has abilities...and must learn to control them.

Eve is the owner of an exclusive establishment, Club No. 7. She is very intriguing and mysterious throughout the story. When Kaspian meets her for the first time, it is love at first sight. With all the stories twisting and turning in the book they all start to come together...but will Eve love Kaspian in return?  

This is a dark and suspenseful story that draws all the different characters together when there is a series of murders. The characters grow with the story and the plot is keeps the pages turning to find out what is going to happen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment